• in-schedule-sun
  • 2014-Iroquois-Team-700×375

    Final Roster Announced for 2014 WLC

  • 2014WLC-700


Photo by Scott McCall

The headline attractions are the Thompsons. Beville surmised it’s the lacrosse equivalent of traveling with the Beatles, and he’s not far off. Every time Lyle or his three brothers walk into the lobby of the world championship host hotel where they are staying, young lacrosse fans and their parents flock to them, asking for a picture before the team heads off to a practice. In the waning moments of games, kids begin to line up along the front of the bleachers to ensure a good spot for an autograph. It’s a sight to see.

Read More at LaxMagazine.com | Photo by Scott McCall

A star at Onondaga Community College in 2007 and 2009, Hiana had hoped to make it to Syracuse University, where his brother Jeremy was a starting midfielder in his junior and senior seasons after playing at OCC.

It didn’t happen, but Hiana continues to play lacrosse and coaches up on Akwesasne. His path was the focus of Lukas Korver’s documentary titled The Medicine Game, but it’s a story that continues to develop. Hiana’s presence on the Iroquois Nationals, along with his three brothers — Jeremy and this year’s co-Tewaaraton winners Miles and Lyle — is a unique opportunity beyond compare in sports.

“It’s just pretty exciting to be able to go out there and play in front of the world, in front of everybody — our people, with all three of my brothers,” Hiana said. “It just feels good.”

Read More at Inside Lacrosse

Photo by Clark Bell |Inside Lacrosse

The Iroquois Nationals dismantled Japan 24-9 Saturday afternoon at the FIL World Lacrosse Championships in Denver to improve to 2-0 in the Blue Division.

After opening up the tournament Friday night with a strong defensive showing in a 15-4 win over England, the Iroquois offense exploded after what seemed like a slow start.

The Iroquois got out to a 3-0 lead with 11:12 left in the first, with Miles Thompson putting up a goal and two assists, both of those feeds on goals by Cody Jamieson. The Japanese responded with three straight goals, and after Jamieson scored his third with 2:45 left in the first, Japan tied the score at 4-4 with 32 seconds left in the quarter.

Read more at Inside Lacrosse

Photo by Scott McCall, Lacrosse Magazine

A dominant performance from the Iroquois Nationals against England closed out a late second day of the FIL World Championships, an evening double-header postponed first by rain and then by a thrilling triple-overtime opener between Australia and Japan.

In the nightcap, the long-awaited debut of the Iroquois team, participating for the first time in FIL senior men’s play since 2006, was a tight affair at the start but soon exploded as the Nationals turned a 2-1 second-quarter deficit into a 7-2 halftime lead on the way to a 15-4 victory.

Read More at Lacrosse Magazine | See Game Photo Gallery

In a matchup that hadn’t happened since 2006, the Iroquois Nationals overwhelmed England offensively and defensively to earn a one-sided 15-4 victory in the first appearance for both teams at the FIL World Lacrosse Championships Friday night in Denver.

Much like the Team USA and Canada opener a night earlier, the Iroquois and England seemed to take a while to find themselves throughout the first and most of the second quarter.

England was able to get out to an early 1-0 lead on Sam Russell’s first goal. The Iroquois would answer just a couple minutes later with Lyle Thompson’s first of three goals on the night and the score would stay tied at 1-1 through the first.

Read More at Inside Lacrosse