Laxies POY: The Case for Cody Jamieson

RX0W4486-LRcrop copy-LRcropIt started with leading the Rochester Knighthawks to a second-consecutive NLL Champion’s Cup victory, and Jammer carried that momentum into a summer. Jamieson was unstoppable with the Six Nations Chiefs of the Ontario Lacrosse Association’s Major Series Lacrosse loop, helping the Chiefs win the MSL title and earning MVP honors in the process. The series victory over the Brooklin Redmen came just two days after Jamieson competed with the Hamilton Nationals at PPL Park, losing by just one goal to eventual Steinfeld Cup winners, the Chesapeake Bayhawks.

After the impressive performance in the MSL playoffs, Jamieson went on to similar success in British Columbia, where the Chiefs met the Victoria Shamrocks to battle for the Mann Cup, arguably the most grueling and competitive series in the sport. Jammer led all scorers in helping the Chiefs win their first Mann Cup since 1996, notching 12 goals and 17 assists and earning MVP at the close of the championship. What makes that win even sweeter is the fact that it was the first time a MSL team other than Peterborough or Brampton had won the Ontario to advance to the Mann Cup since 2000.

Though it’s sometimes off the radar of the lacrosse world, Jamieson won yet another championship in the weeks following the Mann Cup victory, leading the Ohsweken Aces to the crown at the Nations Cup — an annual box tournament pitting teams from the Iroquois Confederacy against one another. The victory was the fourth consecutive Nations Cup title for the Aces.

A Team 22 Lacrosse sponsored athlete and a role model in his community, it’s difficult to find a better year than the 2013 Jamieson just wrapped up.

The Numbers:NLL: 28 goals, 61 assists (NLL playoffs: 5 goals, 9 assists). Major Series Lacrosse (Ontario Senior A box): 34 goals, 33 assists; MSL playoffs/Mann Cup series: 30 goals, 33 assists. MLL: 9 goals, 13 assists.

The Hardware:NLL Champion’s Cup MVP (second consecutive); John “Shooter” Davis Trophy, MVP of Major Series Lacrosse playoffs; Mike Kelly Trophy, MVP of Mann Cup series.