Emerson Shenandoah and Jade Haumann: 2016 Tewaaraton High School Scholarships Winners

WASHINGTON, May 16, 2016 — The Tewaaraton Foundation press release has announced the recipients of the tenth annual Tewaaraton Native American Scholarships. The 2016 scholarship winners are Jade Haumann, Seneca Nation, Wolf Clan and Emerson Shenandoah of the Mohawk Nation, Snipe Clan. The scholarship honors high school students of Haudenosaunee heritage who exemplify high character, leadership, and academics both on and off the lacrosse field.

Emerson Shenandoah is a citizen of the Mohawk Nation who is from the Onondaga Nation. He has maintained a 3.7 GPA and will graduate from LaFayette High School in June 2016 with a New York State Regents diploma with Advanced Designation Honors. Emerson is also a Member of the National Honors Society for his impressive academic achievements and is a four-year varsity lacrosse athlete—earning First Team All-League honors in 2015. Emerson embraces lacrosse as a team sport where “everyone has a part to do”, and as a gift from the Creator that provides medicine, tradition, and honor. Emerson is also a member of the 2016 U-19 Iroquois Nationals 50-Man Roster. In the fall, Emerson will attend and play lacrosse at Cornell University. Emerson is the son of Mrs. Cindy and Mr. Allen “Sonny” Shenandoah- an Iroquois Nationals alumnus.

The Tewaaraton press release said, “Jade is citizen of the Seneca Nation and is a senior at Onondaga Central High School in Nedrow, New York. She will graduate high school in June 2016 and will attend and play lacrosse at Keuka College this fall. She is ranked sixth in her high school class and is a Member of the National Honors Society for her high academic achievement. Jade embraces all that lacrosse has given her and the opportunities that the game provides native youth like her. Jade is proud to walk in the footsteps of preceding Haudenosaunee woman lacrosse players and strives to be a positive role model for her family and community. Her leadership is evidenced by the numerous leadership positions that Jade has held in academic organizations and athletic teams.” Jade is the daughter of Mrs. Sonya Jones-Haumann of the Onondaga Nation.

Each scholarship recipient is awarded $10,000 for education — $5,000 for each of their first and second years in college. The Tewaaraton Foundation with US Lacrosse also covers travel expenses for winners and parents to attend the Tewaaraton Award Ceremony presented by Under Armour, which will take place on June 2, 2016 in Washington, D.C.

More information on the Tewaaraton Award and previous scholarship winners are found at www.Tewaaraton.com.

Resource: Tewaaraton.com