Albany’s Lyle Thompson repeats as Tewaaraton winner

By Patrick Stevens

Lyle Thompson’s record-shattering college career added one last honor Thursday night: A second consecutive Tewaaraton Award.

The Albany attackman, who set NCAA career marks for assists (225) and points (400), collected college lacrosse’s highest honor again Thursday in Washington. Thompson shared the Tewaaraton with his brother Miles last year.

Lyle Thompson, who last week won the USILA’s Enners Award as the nation’s most outstanding player, had 52 goals and 69 assists this season while leading the Great Danes to their third consecutive America East title and an appearance in the NCAA tournament quarterfinals for the second year in a row.

A first team All-America selection, Thompson was also the America East player of the year. He won the Turnbull Award as the nation’s top attackman in 2013 and 2014.

Thompson, who played at LaFayette High School, brought a creative flair to the sport while also embracing a place as a role model for Native American youth.

Thompson is the fourth consecutive Tewaaraton winner to play for a team that did not win the national championship, following Colgate’s Peter Baum (2012), Cornell’s Rob Pannell (2013) and the award he shared with his brother last year. That’s a distinct shift, since eight of the award’s 11 winners came from their respective year’s national champions.